Skip to content

Learn how to keep bees Online!

Please note: Due to the pandemic, the teaching practices of the practical training has been adapted to the government guidelines. For this reason, there are a restricted number of practical places available to first year beekeepers which have now been filled, but we are still offering Online Theory and Mentoring Sessions via Zoom and Facebook.

A marked queen

Learn Beekeeping  - How will BeeEducated 2021 work?
Due to popular demand the combined theory and practical sessions for 2021 are fully booked but we are excited to invite First Year Learner Beekeepers to our Online Theory and Mentoring programme which is facilitated using Zoom and our private Facebook group.

The course has been designed to give an in-depth view into the art (and science) of beekeeping during a full season. There is a commitment of around 3 hours a week from the start of January through to October.

The training
The aim is to give you as much knowledge of beekeeping between January and April through theoretical sessions so that by April, you will have the best start to the beekeeping season. The theory is delivered on a Sunday evening at 18:30 via 'Zoom' and consists of a laid-back presentation with scenarios, videos, accounts of previous learners and a Q&A session. At the end of the session, you will be given a quiz sheet which you can complete and submit for feedback before the next session.

Zoom room at 6:30pmTopic
Sunday 03 January 2021Induction & Q&A
Sunday 10 January 2021The colony
Sunday 17 January 2021Starting right with bees
Sunday 24 January 2021Honey production colonies & feeding
Sunday 31 January 2021Bee Improvement
Sunday 07 February 2021Queen rearing
Sunday 14 February 2021Making an increase
Sunday 21 February 2021Swarming
Sunday 28 February 2021Handling and Examining Bee Colonies
Sunday 07 March 2021Managing Varroa
Sunday 14 March 2021Apiary & Hive Hygiene
Sunday 21 March 2021Disease Recognition
Sunday 28 March 2021Production hives, Cell builders and Queen banks
Sunday 04 April 2021NBU & The Law
A learner checking bees

For updates and learning activities as they happen, we use a private Facebook group to share videos, images, tasks and stories which we encourage everyone to participate in (even if it’s a dummy account).

When the theory has ended, beekeepers that have hives at home inspect their colonies weekly and add hive records containing images and videos of what is happening in their hives. Comments will be made to give suggestions on things to look for, what to do next and what to plan ahead.

Following on from the theory sessions, the weekly zoom sessions will become mentors and support sessions where inspections are discussed and explored further.

Costs
The cost of the Online Only - Theory and Mentoring sessions each week between January and October on Sundays at 18:30 and access to our Private Facebook Group is £60.

Enrolment closes on Sunday 10/01/2020 at 16:00

.
.